top of page
  • Writer's pictureLost in a Book

Magic, Mysticism, Mulan and Project Runway

Wow. Just... WOW.


I had so many expectations going into SPIN THE DAWN - it was easily one of my most anticipated books of the year - but Elizabeth Lim and her phenomenal storytelling SHATTERED THEM ALL.



Before I even get into the nitty-gritty about the story, let's talk about that cover. Isn't it absolutely gorgeous?! The font. The wings. The EXPRESSION ON MAIA'S FACE. The gold embroidery. Pure perfection.


However, it's not right to simply judge a book by its cover. Luckily, Lim's writing is just as enthralling and whimsical as the cover art that graces it.


This book is described as MULAN meets PROJECT RUNWAY, and... that's actually a pretty great description. It has all of the wicked action and strong feminist vibes of MULAN intertwined with the delicate beauty and creativity of the artsy fashion show. I'd have never dreamed that the two could go so well together, but boy, they sure do.

Now, I'm not going to lie, I'm a sucker for all things "magical competition." Think: V.E. Schwab's A GATHERING OF SHADOWS (another one of my favourite books of all time). It then came as no surprise that I absolutely devoured the first half of the story.

The second half, however, was no less incredible. The world-building! The (convincing and realistic!) dialogue! The strong, emotional, fantastically developed characters! (Um, can Maia be my best friend, please and thank you?!) Within the pages, Lim crafts a fantasy world as stunning as the sun in the sky, as elegant as the night's full moon and as awe-inspiring as the stars in the sky.

AND THAT TWIST AT THE END. (No spoilers, don't worry!) Just... wow. I did NOT see that coming! Book 2 cannot be released soon enough - I cannot WAIT to see how the cliffhanger at the end gets resolved!


I EASILY give SPIN THE DAWN five stars. Absolutely. I'd give six if I could. SPIN THE DAWN has instantly shot to the top of my list of the greatest books I've ever read, and I can't WAIT until I get the privilege to read it again... and again, and again, and again.


UNRAVEL THE DUSK (Lim's 2nd book in the SPIN THE DAWN world!) cannot come soon enough!!!

6 views0 comments
bottom of page