top of page
  • Writer's pictureLost in a Book

Tweet Cute: All's Fair in Love and... Cheese?

Tweet Cute was SO cute!!


First off - hi everyone, welcome back to my blog... I know I've taken a bit of a hiatus recently (life's just gotten kind of crazy), but here I am, I'm back, and I'm going to try to post more reviews, become more active on social media again and get back into what I love most in this world - BLOGGING ABOUT BOOKS!!


So here we go, an *actual* review, on one of the cutest YA romances I've ever read: TWEET CUTE.



TEENY TINY TWO-SECOND SUMMARY:


PEPPER is a perfectionist and an overachiever: the top of her class, the captain of the school swim team... and the daughter of the couple who started Big League Burger, a massive burger corporation that's about to be expanded internationally.


JACK is a class clown, and has teased Pepper profusely throughout high school. He also has a twin, Ethan, who's über-popular and super involved in their school, and he works at his family's deli, Girl Cheesing.


Then one day, Big League Burger announces that the new menu item they're unveiling is none other than a grilled cheese made with the SAME unique toppings and condiments as Girl Cheesing's bestselling, Grandma-created grilled cheese... and an all-out, Twitter war ensues, helmed by none other than Jack and Pepper...


...who are also starting to hang out in real life, and maybe-just-maybe become something almost like... friends. (Or maybe even something more...).


TOO CUTE, right?!



Of course, the Twitter war (Twittergeddon? Grilled Cheese-gate?) gets a little... out of control, and romance ensues, but it's SO GOOD, and so well-written, and, I repeat, SO. CUTE.


I cannot rave about this story enough.


First of all, the decision to name the two main characters "Pepper" and "Jack" in a story revolving around a grilled CHEESE feud?? As in, PEPPERJACK?! And then elude to that "coincidence" in the story? ABSOLUTELY. BRILLIANT.



(Yes, yes, of course I was going to fit a Doctor Who gif/reference in here somewhere. BUT I DIGRESS. Back to Pepper and Jack)!


The prose is gorgeous, the story is engaging, the premise is FUN, and the characters are so dynamic and intriguing. I saw myself in Pepper - I, too, am a bit of a perfectionist, a foodie, and a sucker for a good milkshake - and WOW, Jack is right up there with Rhysand and Julian Blackthorn on my "Ideal Bookish Significant Other" list, that's how incredible he is!


(I know, no small feat. I mean it, though. Jack is incredibly memorable, lovingly awkward, clever and sweet. He's a top-tier bookish boyfriend, for sure)!


I'm also a sucker for stories that centre around good food, especially those that describe the recipes in their full deliciousness, and this story did exactly that.


Not only was the ~controversial~ Grilled Cheese described in all of its glory, but Pepper and her sister Paige have a baking blog!! (!!) Which means COOL RECIPES!! Like Monster Cake, which is basically chocolate cake with a whole lot of chocolate bars and marshmallows and other sweet stuff baked into it!! And Girl Cheesing's Kitchen Sink Cookies, which is basically the same but iN cOoKiE fOrM?!



There's only ONE thing that would have made this book better... and that's if these delectable treats had recipes included at the end. But oh well... nonetheless, I'm still going to try my hand at making my own variation on Pepper and Paige's Monster Cake one day very soon!


And, not going to lie... I definitely made myself a grilled cheese after finishing the story. Be prepared: you probably (read: definitely) will, too.



Five stars, for sure - this has instantly become one of my all-time favourite YA novels! CHECK IT OUT!! Give it a read!! And don't forget to stock up on ingredients to make yourself a grilled cheese!!


_________________________


(Cover Photo: WEDNESDAY BOOKS; HELLOGIGGLES)

7 views0 comments
bottom of page