top of page
  • Writer's pictureLost in a Book

Sorcery of Thorns: Minute Review

Updated: Feb 23, 2020

Sorcery of Thorns is a book that had been on my TBR from the moment I first read its synopsis, months and months ago. So, when I received the opportunity to read an ARC of it, I was absolutely THRILLED.



It definitely did not disappoint.


Rogerson is a master of her craft, a brilliant voice in the ever-expanding land of YA fantasy.


Her novel - and its writing style - hit all the right points: the world-building was flawless, the dialogue flowed normally (a nice contrast from the ever-so-common awkwardness of mediocre fantasy dialogue), and the characters were engaging (um, we need a Katrien spin-off ASAP!).


I found protagonist Elisabeth extremely likeable and fell in love with brooding, sarcastic Nathaniel from his very first appearance as the mysterious Magister in the Great Library.


Plus, THE GRIMOIRES WERE INCREDIBLE! Aside from bringing lightness and fun to the story - I had a huge smile pasted on my face whenever one appeared - they were so unique, so unlike any magical item I'd read about before, that they upped the creativity of Rogerson's fantasy world even further, bringing it from "fantastic" to "unparalleled." Magical, sentient books? I mean, that's just TOO COOL.



Sorcery of Thorns is, without a doubt, one of my favourite reads of 2019 so far - a fun, new fantasy unlike any seen in the genre before, which will, without a doubt, be one that will stand out to me throughout the years (and fantasy titles!) to come!


Five stars, for sure!


**ARC provided via NetGalley for an honest review**

3 views0 comments
bottom of page