top of page
  • Writer's pictureLost in a Book

Wicked Saints: Minute Review

I must say, I didn't know much about WICKED SAINTS before receiving an e-arc of it, so I had absolutely no expectations going into it. And when I picked it up, I really, really did enjoy it.


The worldbuilding, for one, was absolutely phenomenal. While reading, I felt as though I was being transported to a whole other world. The magic system, especially that of Nadya and the Kalyazi culture was so unique, so interesting that I couldn't wait to flip through the (albeit virtual) pages, was at the edge of my seat to learn more about the Gods and their mythology.


It was also incredibly quick into the action, which hooked me in nearly immediately. Other reviewers have compared this title to the incredibly talented Holly Black's, and in this regard, I ABSOLUTELY agree. Like Black's THE CRUEL PRINCE, the action WICKED SAINTS is sharp, exciting and absolutely constant. There was never a dull moment throughout the 385 pages of Duncan's writing.


Though there were aspects of the novel which I didn't love - for instance, some of the dialogue, especially that of Serefin in Chapter 3, when he first appears, and that between Nadya and Malachiasz throughout, well, nearly the entirety of their interactions was a little bit weak, appearing almost forced. In addition, I didn't love Nadya as a protagonist; though her use of Kalyazi magic kept me enthralled during the chapters in her point of view, I just couldn't connect with her and her temperamental, hot-and-cold nature. To me, it felt as though her emotions were completely flipping to complete opposite sides of the spectrum every one to two sentences!


Serafin, on the other hand... I LIVED FOR THE CHAPTERS IN HIS POINT OF VIEW. He was clever, quick, intriguing to read about... every time I saw his name at the top of a chapter, my heart beat a little faster. He was written so beautifully, and his point of view was so incredibly interesting, I can't wait to see where his character goes throughout the next book in Duncan's series!!


All in all, WICKED SAINTS was a creative and fun read; I wouldn't quite call it a stand-out fantasy in this world of beautiful, poetic works in the genre, and it had its flaws, but it really was enjoyable. Emily A Duncan has an incredibly bright future in front of her, and I look forward to reading the continuation of Nadya and Serefin's story within the upcoming future!

10 views0 comments
bottom of page